Classical Concert

Saturday, January 16, 2016

Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts • 525 S. John Q. Hammons Parkway

Pre-Concert Lecture 6:30 p.m. • Pre-Concert Music 7:00 p.m.

Concert 7:30 p.m.

Single Tickets:  Call the Hammons Hall box office at 417-836-7678 or online at missouristatetix.com

This concert’s music features the Anti-Hero--those shady, complex characters who are neither villain nor champion, who are famous--or infamous--for their exploits and flaws. Strauss’s masterwork Don Juan is one of the most challenging and exciting war horses of the orchestral repertoire, and Bernstein’s On the Waterfront is one of the most significant movie scores of the 20th century cinema. John Adams’ Chairman Dances from Nixon in China is one of the most popular contemporary orchestral pieces and is a new and exciting challenge for the Springfield Symphony. Finally, we are excited to bring Alexander Markov, the world’s foremost interpreter of Paganini, the composer knows as “The Devil’s Violinist,” to play the famous 2nd Violin Concerto.


Our Proud Sponsors:




William T. White



1308867255_64_facebook 1308867262_64_twitter Springfield Symphony Orchestra • 411 N. Sherman Parkway • Springfield, MO 65802 • Phone: 417.864-6683 • Fax: 417.864.8967
You are here: Concerts January